League Awards
Celebrating Outstanding Faculty, Staff, and Student Achievement

Innovation of the Year Awards

Celebrating Community College Innovation

Established over 30 years ago, this award recognizes significant community college innovations that improve the ability of institutions to serve their students and communities. MORE>

John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards

Honoring Excellence Among Community College Professionals

Named in recognition of the outstanding contributions of John and Suanne Roueche to the community college field, this award celebrates faculty and staff who exemplify exceptional teaching and leadership. MORE>

Terry O'Banion Student Technology Awards

Championing Outstanding Technology Students

This award recognizes and supports deserving students who have special talent in technology, who have a strong financial need, and who are passionate about pursuing careers in technology. MORE>

Latest Updates

June 2018
Congratulations to the 2018 Innovation of the Year Award winners! Forty-six institutions submitted innovations for a 2018 Innovation of the Year Award. Some of the innovations are described below. Click here for a full list of winners. Wake Technical Community College: Launching North Carolina's First Associate Degree Program in Healthcare Simulation Technology Wake Tech has become a leader in healthcare simulation in North Carolina by developing state-of-the-art simulation labs in its Nursing, Radiology, EMS, Dental Assisting and Hygiene, and other allied health programs. Working in this...
March 2018
The Riegelman Awards for Excellence in Public Health & Health Navigation Education in Community Colleges were presented to three community colleges at the League’s 2018 Innovations Conference in National Harbor, Maryland, to representatives from Anne Arundel Community College, Montgomery County Community College, and Palo Alto College. The Riegelman Awards are bestowed upon colleges that have demonstrated excellence in planning or enhancing associate degree or certificate programs in public health and health navigation education; or providing public health/health foundations courses in...
March 2018
Three outstanding technology students were honored with Terry O’Banion Student Technology Awards at the League’s Innovations Conference on Monday, March 19. Named for the League’s President Emeritus, who assisted in Monday’s presentation, the two awards—Student Developer Champion and Student Technology Champion—celebrate the achievements of community college students pursuing careers in technology fields. Each honoree received a $2,500 scholarship and a commemorative plaque.  The Student Developer Champion award, presented annually to a student preparing for a career in software development,...
March 2018
Josh Wyner, founder and Executive Director of the College Excellence Program and Vice President at the Aspen Institute, was presented with the ETS O’Banion Prize at the League’s Innovations Conference on Tuesday, March 20. Victoria Monaghan, Director of Strategic Initiatives at Educational Testing Service, presented the award to Wyner for his contributions to the improvement of teaching and learning. Wyner’s work has centered around advancing college practices, policies, and leadership that significantly improve student outcomes, with a focus on students who are historically underserved in...

Celebrating John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards Recipients