May 2020

Established over 35 years ago, the League’s Innovation of the Year Award was devised as a way to recognize significant innovations at League Board and Alliance member colleges. These innovations reflect capstone achievements and the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded. This award acknowledges innovative programs, practices, partnerships, policies, and activities that improve the ability of institutions to serve students and the community and to honor the faculty, staff, and...

March 2020

Outstanding technology students; innovative projects, initiatives, and programs; and significant contributions to teaching, learning, and leadership were recognized at the League for Innovation in the Community College’s Innovations Conference, March 1-4, at the Hyatt Regency in Seattle, Washington.

Educational Testing Service O’Banion Prize

Andrew L. Meyer, Founder, Meyer Global Associates LLC, and Vice President Emeritus, Anne Arundel Community College, was presented with the ETS O’Banion Prize for his role as a leading expert and advocate for adult learning and workforce...

February 2020

With support from the Walmart Foundation, the League for Innovation in the Community College has launched "Innovative Solutions for Hunger Relief and Student Success," a two-year project to help community colleges reduce food insecurity for students and their families in sustainable ways that foster student retention, persistence, and success.

Almost half of U.S. community college students responding to the #RealCollege survey conducted by the Hope Center for College, Community and Justice indicated that they have experienced food insecurity (Goldrick-Rab et al., 2019). Through the...