Innovation of the Year Award Honors Community College Educators and Innovative Programs That Serve Students

Established over 30 years ago, the League’s Innovation of the Year Award was devised as a way to recognize significant innovations at League Board and Alliance member colleges. These innovations reflect capstone achievements and the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded. This award is designed to recognize innovative programs, practices, partnerships, policies, and activities that improve the ability of institutions to serve students and the community and to honor the faculty, staff, and administrators who have created and implemented them. Granting this award provides a venue for showcasing these innovations and the dedicated community college educators who strive for excellence on a daily basis.

League Board and Alliance institutions submit a wide spectrum of innovative initiatives undertaken within the academic year. One of last year’s winning innovations was Foothill College’s Dental Hygiene Baccalaureate program, which was the first such program in the 57-year history of the college. Another League Alliance member, Delta College, recognized their Democracy Project, which engaged students in multiple initiatives under The Democracy Commitment, helping them to become engaged with political issues, and in the process, learn how to become democratic citizens.

League Board and Alliance member colleges determine their own eligibility criteria and selection protocol, and each college or system submits their winning Innovation of the Year through our online system. One winner will be accepted for each college or district.

The designated Innovation of the Year Award contact at each member institution is responsible for administering this award and submitting names. If you are interested in nominating a capstone project and those educators responsible for that project, please contact your president or chancellor to find out who the primary contact is at your college. We invite you to submit award winners October 3, 2016-March 1, 2017. Visit the League website’s Innovation of the Year Award page to learn more about the criteria and nomination process.