Student Art Award
Student Literature Award
Sudent Technology Award
Innovations of the Year Award

National Student Literary Competition Winners Announced


The winners of the 2008-2009 Student Literary Competition, hosted by Anne Arundel Community College and coordinated by Susan Cohen were recently announced. The First Place awards were presented to Erin Russell, Brookhaven College, for a short story titled “That's What It's All About”; Laura Gomez, Miami Dade College – Wolfson Campus, for an essay titled “Mein Herz Brennt”; Dana Shurtz, Mesa Community College, for a poem titled “Old Timers”; and Laura Terry, Scottsdale Community College, for her one-act play titled “Balloon from the Moon.”

The Second Place awards were won by Katarzyna M. Wolny, Moraine Valley Community College, for a short story titled, “This, Too, Will Pass”; Kevin D. Washington, Anne Arundel Community College, for an essay titled “The Chestnut Wars”; Bobbi Inskeep, Delta College for a poem titled “His Schedule”; and Emily Mills, Delta College, for a one-act play titled “The Storyteller.”

The Third Place awards were given to Alexander Cherin, Miami Dade College – North Campus, for a short story titled “I'll Take Really Small Sips Now”; Jackie Ruzzin, Johnson County Community College, for an essay titled “One Size Does Not Fit All”; Paula R. Newman, Dallas County Community College District, for a poem titled “Flight”; and Caleb Hoag, Monroe Community College, for the one-act play, “Green Pills and Gumbo.”

Honorable mention was given to Nozipo Glenn, Sinclair Community College, for an essay titled “Black Pot,” Cheri Browne, Lane Community College, for her poem titled “Lady Lost,” and Lauren Catron, Foothill-De Anza Community College District for her poem titled “ Canyon Land .”

Under the leadership of Anne Arundel Community College, the competition included 60 literary works from League colleges. A catalog of all entries is currently being produced by Anne Arundel Community College and will be mailed to all League members this fall.

The jurors for this year's Student Literary Competition were Mary Kay Zuravleff (Short Story); Michael Glaser (Poetry); Caleen Sinnette Jennings (One-Act Play); and John Lane (Personal Essay).

Mary Kay Zuravleff's first novel, The Frequency of Souls, published by Farrar, Straus and won the James Jones First Novel Award and the Rosenthal Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The Bowl Is Already Broken, her second novel, was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 2005. Zuravleff's short fiction has appeared in literary and mainstream magazines, as well as the anthologies Grace and Gravity and Other Voices. She has been the recipient of numerous grants from the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities, including a 2008 Artist Fellowship. Michael S. Glaser, Poet Laureate of Maryland, has published over 500 poems in such literary journals and newspapers as the American Scholar, New Letters, Prairie Schooner, Christian Science Monitor, The Antioch Review and First Things as well as in numerous anthologies, including Unsettling America, Outsiders and Light Gathering Poems . His books include A Lover's Eye, In the Men's Room and Other Poems, which was the winner of the Painted Bride Quarterly chapbook competition, Being a Father, and Fire before the Hands which won the Anabiosis Press, chapbook prize. Caleen Sinnette Jennings is a two-time Helen Hayes nominee for Outstanding New Play. She is Professor of Theatre at American University in Washington and winner of the Outstanding Teaching of Playwriting from the Play Writing Forum of the Association of Theatre in Higher Education. Her play, Playing Juliet/Casting Othello was produced at the Folger Elizabethan Theatre. Her published, produced and commissioned work also includes: Elsewhere in Elsinore: The Unseen Women of Hamlet, Playing Juliet/Casting Othello, Inns & Outs, Free Like Br'er Rabbit, and Sunday Dinner. Place and wilderness have always been critical themes in John Lane's poetry, personal essays, commentary, and fiction. Lane's outdoor adventure prose has appeared in Outside, American White Water, Canoe, South Carolina Wildlife, and many other periodicals. Lane's books include: A Stand of Cypress, Weed Time, The Woods Stretched for Miles: Contemporary Southern Nature Writing awarded a NEA Poetry apprenticeship Grant, a Hoyns Fellowship in Poetry from the University of Virginia, a South Carolina Arts Commission Individual Arts Fellowship, and the Phillip D. Reed Memorial Award for Outstanding Writing on the Southern Environment. Lane teaches environmental literature and creative writing at Wofford College .

The 2009-2010 competition will be hosted by the Lane Community College and coordinated by Johnnie Mazzocco.