Student Art Award
Student Literature Award
Sudent Technology Award
Innovations of the Year Award

National Student Literary Competition Winners Announced

The winners of the 2006-2007 Student Literary Competition, hosted by Monroe Community College and coordinated by Ann Tippett and Jay Keith were recently announced. The First Place awards were presented to Harmony DeLeon, Phoenix College, for a short story titled “Homecoming”; Hollis Fischer, Dallas Community College District, for a poem titled “Moving House”; Stephen Berds, Monroe Community College, for an essay titled “Foreign Pleasure”; and Katina Harvick, Lane Community College, for her one-act play titled “A Whole New Life.”

The Second Place awards were won by Joshua Maday, Delta College, for a short story titled, “Festival of Trees”; Andrew Rymill, Johnson County Community College, for a poem titled “Spelling Bee”; Sarah Johnston, Lane Community College for her essay titled “Direction in the Dust”; and Sean Danker-Smith, St. Louis Community College-Florissant Valley, for a one-act play titled “Penguins in a High School.”

The Third Place awards were given to Tabitha Kube, Anne Arundel Community College, for a short story titled “Unread News”; Frances Thomas, Glendale Community College, for a poem titled “Silence Deep and Dark”; John Haaheim, Glendale Community College, for his essay titled “The Goose”; and Jesse M. Anderson, Monroe Community College, for the one-act play, “Communication.”
Honorable mention was given to Ivan J. Vargas, Miami Dade College-Kendall Campus, for his short story titled “A Long Night for Samuel” and Brian Rossow, Delta College for his essay titled “Hidden Freedom.”
Under the leadership of Monroe Community College, the competition included 50 literary works from League colleges. A catalog of all entries is currently being produced by Monroe and will be mailed to all League members this fall.
The jurors for this year’s Student Literary Competition were Paula Marchese (One-Act Play); Steve Huff (Short Story); Kathleen Wakefield (Poetry); and M.J. Iuppa (Personal Essay). 

Paula Marchese has worked in theater, film, and television. She is a founding member of the Ensemble Studio Theater, New York and Los Angeles, where she was the Director of the Playwrights Unit. She has worked in the literary departments of International Creative Management and as a story analyst for NBC. Paula is a 1998 winner of the GEVA Regional Playwrights Festival (Rochester, NY) for her play, “The Ring.” She currently teaches writing at SUNY Brockport and at Writers and Books in Rochester, New York and serves as dramaturge for Hamm & Clov Stage Company. Steve Huff’s collection of stories, A Pig in Paris, is scheduled for release in fall, 2006. He is the author of two collections of poems, The Water We Came From, and Proof. A new collection of poems, More Daring Escapes, is due out in fall, 2007. He is the host of a weekend radio feature, “Fiction in Shorts,” on public radio stations, WXXI-FM and WJSL-FM. His poetry has been read by Garrison Keillor on The Writer’s Almanac. He teaches writing at Rochester Institute of Technology and at St. John Fisher College. Kathleen Wakefield lives in Penfield, New York with her husband and two sons. Her book, Notations on the Visible World, won the 1999 Anhinga Prize for Poetry (Anhinga Press, 2000). She also has a chapbook from State Street Press (1993), There and Back. Her poems have appeared in such journals as the Georgia Review, Image, The Journal, Kenyon Review, and Poetry. She has taught creative writing at the Eastman School of Music and the University of Rochester and worked as a poet-in-residence in several schools in the Rochester area. M.J. Iuppa has been successfully teaching poetry and creative writing workshops to students ages 8-89 throughout New York State for over 20 years. Her creative nonfiction is included in the anthologies, In Brief, Short Takes and Chelsea 67. Her poetry has been nominated for the Pushcart Award in 1998, 2001, and 2002, and over 300 of her poems have appeared in small press, university, and national publications. Her first full-length poetry collection Night Traveler appeared in 2003. Presently, she is the Writer-in-Residence and Director of the Arts Minor Program at St. John Fisher College, and also teaches creative writing and poetry workshops for numerous local organizations.

The 2007-2008 competition will be hosted by the Miami Dade College and coordinated by Elaine Ludovici.