Student Art Competition
2007 - 2008


National Student Art Competition Winners Announced

The winners of the 2007-2008 Student Art Competition, hosted by San Diego Community College District and coordinated by Lou Ascione , were recently announced . The First Place Best of Show was awarded to Deborah Taube, Lane Community College , for an Untitled wood sculpture. This year's Juror's Purchase award was presented to Beth Scott , Seattle Community College District, for an oil painting titled Thinking of Eagles .

The Second Place award was won by Tae Young Jun, De Anza College, for a mixed media piece titled Walking Out Of; and the Third Place awards were presented to Jordan Maloney, Johnson County Community College, for his porcelainous stoneware piece titled Altered Pitcher; Emma Williams, Sinclair Community College, for a photograph titled Fingers Blue, and Jason Spencer, St. Louis Community College , for an oil on canvas piece titled Death of Jack.

Honorable Mentions were given to 8 student artists, including Kristen Masters, Anne Arundel Community College, for a graphite on paper piece titled Study of Man; Don Peeler, Central Piedmont Community College, for a ceramic sculpture titled Spiral in Flight; Kat Knutsen, Central Piedmont Community College, for a pastel titled Identity; Bing Zhang, De Anza College, for an oil on canvas titled Mirrors #3; David Lee Brothers, Delta College, for a digital imaging piece titled Death by Exposure; David Fairchild, Delta College, for a film based images piece that was digitally enlarged titled Overwhelmed ; Linda D'Agosto Yaeger, Lane Community College, for an oil piece titled It's Not Simple; and Caitlin Collin, Monroe Community College, for an ink and collage piece titled Fishing Trip .

Under the leadership of San Diego City College, the competition included more than 90 works of art from League colleges. A catalog of all entries is currently being produced by San Diego Community College District and will be mailed to all League members this fall.

The juror for this year's competition was Rafael López. The work of Rafael López is a fusion of strong graphic style and magical symbolism. Growing up in Mexico City he was immersed by his architect parents in the rich cultural heritage and native color of street life. Influenced by Mexican muralists, dichos and myths he developed a bold, vital drawing style with roots in these traditions.

In 2005, at the Library of Congress, his first children's book Me Llamo Celia, My name is Celia about the life of the late salsa singer Celia Cruz won the prestigious Americas Award and was also honored with the 2006 Pura Belpre. The Latino Dance stamp he created for the United States Postal Service was featured on the cover of the Commemorative Stamp Yearbook and in 2006 at a special exhibition at the Smithsonian called Trendsetters. His second stamp Mendez vs. Westminster was released in September 2007 for the U.S. Postal Service and celebrates an important political case about equality in education. Rafael envisioned and led the Urban Art Trail Project that transformed San Diego's blighted East Village with colorful murals, sculptures and art installations and served as a model of urban renewal that was implemented in cities around the nation.

The 2008-2009 competition will be hosted by Seattle Community College District.