Student Art Competition
2005 - 2006


National Student Art Competition Winners Announced

The winners of the 2005-2006 Student Art Competition, hosted by Dallas County Community College District and coordinated by Larry Felty, were recently announced. The First Place Best of Show and Juror’s Purchase award were presented to Dan Jarvis, Moraine Valley Community College, for a photo titled Imposter.  

The Second Place award was won by Dorothy S. Gordon, Kirkwood Community College, for an intaglio print titled Les Artistes; and the Third Place awards were presented to Pat Pangburn, Dallas County Community Colleges, for a clay sculpture titled School of Fish; Rebecca Rosol, Anne Arundel Community College, for a photo titled Allies’ Doll;andJeffrey Barnett, Dallas County Community Colleges, for a photo and thread piece titled Shirt.

Honorable Mentions were given to 11 student artists, including Maghale Gamble, Cuyahoga Community College, for an oil painting titled The Portal; Garrick Miller, Delta, for a construction paper on Bristol board titled Animation-Graduation Project; Bob Ballantyne, Kirkwood Community College, for an intaglio piece titled QuestionJosh Arguello, Lane Community College, for a piece done on Max-3D software titled Solitary; Mike Rutter, Maricopa Community Colleges, for a charcoal piece titled Epilogue; Louis Damian, San Diego Community College District, for an oil painting titled Sombra De La Luna;Jeffrey Zern, Santa Fe Community Colleges, for a ceramic piece titled Gasoline;Anna Hoychuck, Seattle Community Colleges, for a digital piece titled Spot on the Sun; and Judy C. Baker, St. Louis Community Colleges, for a watercolor titled The Farmer.

Under the leadership of Dallas County Community Colleges, the competition included more than 100 works of art from League colleges. A catalog of all entries is currently being produced by Dallas County Community College District and will be mailed to all League members this fall.

There were three jurors for the 2005-2006 Student Art Competition: Phillip Collins, Alejandrina Drew, and Cidnee Patrick. Collins is the chief curator at the African American Museum, Dallas. Collins has also received a number of awards, including the 2004 Advocate for the Artists Award by the Visual Arts Coalition in Dallas and the 2004 Award for Excellence in the Community for Creative Arts, given by the Dallas Historical Society. Juror Drew is the General Manager for the Latino Cultural Center in Dallas, and is a long-time member of the Association for Performing Arts Presenters; she has served as a panelist for the National Endowment for the Arts and for the Texas Commission on the Arts. Cidnee Patrick is owner and director of Cidnee Patrick Gallery in Dallas. Patrick has served on a number of organizations that support the arts, including the Steering Committee for the Emergency Artists Support League and the Board of Directors at the Arlington Museum of Art.

The 2006-2007 competition will be hosted by Santa Fe Community College and coordinated by Valerie Aslakson-Jennings.



Les Artistes

School of Fish

Allies' Doll