League Home League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner Home League Navigation Banner Search League Navigation Banner Site Map League Navigation Banner iStream League Navigation Banner Events Calendar League Navigation Banner League Store League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner
About the League
League Mission
League Initiatives
League Board
League Representatives
League Membership
Press Releases
Privacy Policy
League Staff


Terry O'Banion Student Technology Awards 2001

The League for Innovation in the Community College and Platinum Partner Microsoft Corporation are pleased to announce the selection of Michael N. Sullivan, Foothill College (CA), and Todd Eberhardt, St. Louis Community College-Meramac (MO), as the 2001 Terry O'Banion Student Technology Champions. Microsoft sponsors the awards in honor of Terry O'Banion, Senior League Fellow and President Emeriti of the League. 

The students selected for this year's awards demonstrated a special talent and interest in a career in technology and a need for financial assistance in meeting their career goals. "Michael's outstanding record of rehabilitation and personal achievement and his passion for technology and dedication to his goal of becoming a self-supporting computer systems specialist are inspirational," said Microsoft's Diana Carew, Manager, Workforce Development/Community College Relations. "Todd's project for St. Louis Community College, with the online Web-based assessment tracking package demonstrating his skills in a meaningful way to his college, was inspiring. Both students have skills that are desperately needed in the workforce today, and it is our hope that the $5,000 honorarium will help both of them continue their studies."

The two winning students are designated as Student Technology Champion (Sullivan) and Student Developer Champion (Eberhardt). The winning students each receive $5,000 plus a variety of software products from Microsoft. The winning letters of nomination were read during the Opening General Session at the League's Innovations 2001 conference in Atlanta, and Microsoft will produce a video of this year's winners to show at the 2001 Conference on Information Technology, November 14-17 in Minneapolis. An announcement of the winning scholars has also been made on Microsoft's website.