League Home League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner Home League Navigation Banner Search League Navigation Banner Site Map League Navigation Banner iStream League Navigation Banner Events Calendar League Navigation Banner League Store League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner
About the League
League Mission
League Initiatives
League Board
League Representatives
League Membership
Press Releases
Privacy Policy
League Staff



From left to right, League President and CEO Gerardo E. de los Santos with Student Technology Award winners Justin G. Cree, John W. Tyler, Jason Clinkscale, and the award’s namesake, Terry O’Banion, at the League’s Innovations Conference


Exceptional Students Receive 2012 Terry O'Banion Student Technology Awards

The League for Innovation in the Community College is pleased to announce the selection of the 2012 Terry O’Banion Student Technology Champions.

  • Jason Clinkscale, Cuyahoga Community College – Eastern Campus, Highland Hills, Ohio
  • John W. Tyler, Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg, VA
  • Justin G. Cree, Carl Sandburg College, Galesburg, IL

After receiving an abundance of illustrious recommendation letters, the League Selection Committee chose three recipients - one Student Developer Champion and two Student Technology Champions. Each of these three outstanding students demonstrated a passion for technology, and a commitment to their education and community. All three recipients possess exceptional qualities and have remarkable life stories to tell, all of which sparked the interest of the selection committee.

Jason Clinkscale’s instructor and nominating faculty member, James Leasure, believes Jason “will be a strong advocate for software development for years to come and will make the most of this opportunity.” He is an enthusiastic developer and a model developer champion, whether leading discussions on development topics with fellow students or building new applications on his own. Leasure is certain that Jason has the potential to achieve his goal of becoming a professional software developer.

John W. Tyler’s instructor, Anita L. Sutton, boldly claims that “John W. Tyler is the definition of a technology champion.” An Information Technology – Networking major, John maintains a 3.85 grade point average and, in addition to excelling in his academic career, is an active member of Phi Theta Kappa, Psi Beta, student government, and other student organizations. 

Recipient Justin G. Cree is described as a determined and conscientious student who maintains a 3.8 grade point average.  He is patient with other students and displays strong leadership potential. According to his nominating faculty member, Linda Lee, Justin is well on his way to becoming a successful Instructional Technology specialist.

Student Developer Champion, Jason Clinkscale, and Student Technology Champions, Justin G. Cree and John W. Tyler, were each rewarded $1,000 and a plaque commemorating their achievements. The Terry O’Banion Student Technology Awards are given annually in honor of Terry O’Banion, Senior League Fellow and President Emeritus of the League.