League Home League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner Home League Navigation Banner Search League Navigation Banner Site Map League Navigation Banner iStream League Navigation Banner Events Calendar League Navigation Banner League Store League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner
About the League
League Mission
League Initiatives
League Board
League Representatives
League Membership
Press Releases
Privacy Policy
League Staff


Exceptional Students Receive 2011 Terry O'Banion Student Technology Awards

The League for Innovation in the Community College is pleased to announce the selection of the 2011 Terry O’Banion Student Technology Champions, Steve Leavitt from Flathead Valley Community College in Kalispell, Montana; Ruth Miller from Moraine Valley Community College in Palos Hills, Illinois; and Harold Neal from Lee College in Baytown, Texas. The awards are given annually in honor of Terry O’Banion, Senior League Fellow and President Emeritus of the League.

After receiving an abundance of illustrious recommendation letters, the League Selection Committee chose three rather than the usual two recipients: one Student Developer Champion and two Student Technology Champions. Each of these three outstanding students demonstrated a passion for technology, as well as a commitment to their education and community.

In addition, each recipient possesses exceptional qualities and has a remarkable life story to tell, all of which sparked the interest of the selection committee. Steve Leavitt’s instructor describes him as having a “unique propensity and ravenous appetite for programming. He exhibits strong initiative and an enviable potential as a future innovator.” Recipient Ruth Miller is described as a “tenacious adult student who has not allowed the great adversities in her life to challenge her passion for technology, her desire to be a lifelong learner, or her will to complete her degree.” Harold Neal survived Hurricane Katrina and a physical disability, yet still maintains a 4.0 in his discipline and an overall 3.814 GPA.
Student Developer Champion Steve Leavitt and Student Technology Champions Ruth Miller and Harold Neal were each rewarded $1,000 and a plaque commemorating their achievements.