League Home League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner Home League Navigation Banner Search League Navigation Banner Site Map League Navigation Banner iStream League Navigation Banner Events Calendar League Navigation Banner League Store League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner League Navigation Banner
League Navigation Banner
About the League
League Mission
League Initiatives
League Board
League Representatives
League Membership
Press Releases
Privacy Policy
League Staff


2009 Terry O'Banion Student Technology Awards

The League for Innovation in the Community College and Platinum Partner Microsoft Corporation are pleased to announce the selection of Brenda Meza, El Paso Community College (El Paso, TX) and William Brodie, Middlesex County College (Edison, NJ), as the 2009 Terry O'Banion Student Technology Champions. Microsoft sponsors the Terry O'Banion Student Technology Championsawards annually in honor of Terry O'Banion, Senior League Fellow and President Emeritus of the League.

The students selected for this year’s awards stood out as passionate individuals.  After receiving an abundance of compelling letters of recommendation, Microsoft’s US Education team selected one Student Technology winner and one Student Developer winner.  Each student had something extra special that stood out to the committee.  These two winners clearly demonstrated passion for technology through their commitment to their education and to their community. 

The committee was impressed by Brenda Meza’s academic achievement and determination to overcome personal obstacles to continue her education. Additionally, William Henri Brodie demonstrated his dedication through great academic performance, a commitment to going above and beyond, and the passion to overcome great personal obstacles.  Prasid Pathak, Microsoft Corporation, commented during the review process that “Above all else, we value passion, and these students have stories that are inspiring. I’m so thankful that we can do something to help.”

Student Technology Champion Brenda Meza and Student Developer Champion William Henri Brodie each received $5,000, plus a variety of software products from Microsoft. The winning letters of nomination were read during the League’s Innovations 2009 conference in Reno. Announcements of the winning scholars will be made on the League's website.