March 15-18, 2009
Grand Sierra Resort
Reno-Tahoe, Nevada
Bullet   Conference PowerPoint Files
Bullet   Conference Program
Bullet   Itinerary Builder
Bullet   Participant Lookup
Bullet   Session Listing
Bullet   Registration Information
Bullet   Call for Proposals
General Information:
 Stella Perez
  (480) 705-8200 x243
  Judy Greenfield
 (480) 705-8200 x200
Travel & Hotel Information:
  Robin Piccirilli
  (480) 705-8200 x232
Presenter Questions:
  Robin Piccirilli
 (480) 705-8200 x232
Exhibition, Partnership:
 Chris Hennessey
 (480) 705-8200 x237
About Innovations


Kay M. McClenney

Kay McClenney is Director of the Center for Community College Student Engagement and Sid W. Richardson Endowed Fellow in the Community College Leadership Program (CCLP) at The University of Texas at Austin.  The Center conducts the Community College Survey of Student Engagement (CCSSE) and the Survey of Entering Student Engagement (SENSE) and has now surveyed nearly a million community college students at over 700 colleges in 49 states.  Also within the CCLP, she is senior consultant to the UT work on the national Achieving the Dream initiative; director of the Initiative on Student Success supported by the MetLife Foundation and Houston Endowment Inc; and co-director of CLASS ─ the California Leadership Alliance for Student Success.  She previously served for 10 years a Vice President and chief operating officer of the Education Commission of the States.

Dr. McClenney has served as a consultant to education institutions, state higher education systems, state government, and professional associations in 47 states and internationally.  In addition, she served for a number of years as a community college educator, during which she was a faculty member, program director, system administrator, and interim CEO.

A frequent keynote speaker, Dr. McClenney has also authored numerous publications on education issues, strategic planning, accountability, student success and assessment.  She earned her Ph.D. in educational administration from the Community College Leadership Program at the University of Texas at Austin, and she has been named a Distinguished Graduate of that program.  Her previous degrees include a B.A. from Trinity University and an M.A. in Psychology from Texas Christian University.

Kay has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) and the Executive Board of the American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC).  She received the 2002 PBS O’Banion Prize for contributions to teaching and learning in America.


League for Innovation in the Community College
4505 East Chandler Boulevard, Suite 250 · Phoenix, Arizona 85048
Voice: (480) 705-8200 · Fax: (480) 705-8201

Copyright © 1995 - 2015 League for Innovation in the Community College. All rights reserved.