Home Search Site Map LeagueTLC League Store
League Homebase
Homebase League Homebase
League Homebase
Innovation of the Year Competition
League Homebase
Student Art Competition
League Homebase
Studet Literary Competition
League Homebase



Student Literary Competition

The League for Innovation invites each League Board college/district to participate in the annual Student Literary Competition. The initial competition takes place at each member college or district, with the winners of each local contest going on to compete at the national level. National winners receive cash prizes and are published in the League's literary magazine. This site contains detailed information for the host college, steering committee, and college coordinators.

Competition Guidelines
Find out how your college or district can participate.

Host Guidelines
You don’t need to reinvent the wheel! See how previous host colleges have managed the competition.

Host College List
Hosts from 7 colleges make up each year’s competition steering committee – (1) current year, (3) past, (3) future. See where your college fits in.

Coordinator Contact List
Current Competition Coordinator list – for each of the League Board Colleges.

List of competition winners from previous year.

Past Competitions
For specific competition information from previous years, click the following links:



For specific competition information, click the following links:

2014-2015 Competition

2013-2014 Competition

2012-2013 Competition

2011-2012 Competition

2010-2011 Competition

2009-2010 Competition

2008-2009 Competition

2007-2008 Competition

2006-2007 Competition

2005-2006 Competition

2004-2005 Competition

2003-2004 Competition

2002-2003 Competition



2012 - 2013 | 2009 - 2010 | 2008 - 2009

2007 - 2008 | 2006 - 2007 | 2005 - 2006

2004 - 2005 | 2003 - 2004 | 2002 - 2003

Each year, two steering committee meetings are held via conference call, one in the spring (providing current year close out, and to kick off the new year), and the other in the fall (where the current year’s host provides updates/status of upcoming competition). The steering committee consists of the current host, past hosts from the three most recent years, and three future hosts.

Host Year
Host College
Host Coordinator
 2023-24 Seattle Community College  
 2022-23 Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning  
 2021-22 Moraine Community College  
 2020-21 Sinclair Community College  
 2019-20 Cuyahoga Community College  
 2018-19 Kirkwood Community College  
 2017-18 Central Piedmont Community College Nadine Gordon
 2016-17 Maricopa Community College District Linda Speranza
 2015-16 Delta College Lauren Smith
 2014-15 Dallas County Community College District Rebekah Rios-Harris
 2013-14 Johnson County Community College Tom Reynolds & Andy Anderson
 2012-13 Foothill-DeAnza Community College District Ken Weisner
 2011-12 Santa Fe College Susan Miller & Clay Arnold
 2010-11 San Diego Community College District Lou Ascione
Lane Community College Will Fleming
Anne Arundel Community College Susan Cohen
Miami Dade College Elaine Ludovici
Monroe Community College Ann Tippett
St. Louis Community College Timothy Layton
Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning Joe Aversa
Seattle Community College District Judy Bentley / Tracy Heinlein
Sinclair Community College Timothy Waggoner
Cuyahoga Community College Margo Bohanon
Kirkwood Community College Allison York
Central Piedmont Community College Brian Anderson
Maricopa Community Colleges Virginia Sutton
Delta College Mary Beth Looby
Kern Community College District Becky Mooney/Nancy Edwards
Dallas County Community College District Nancy Jones
Johnson County Community College Jim Williams
Moraine Valley Community College John Sullivan

back to the top